Pour my love on You

This week of Passover and the week that our Lord and Savior death, I had asked on twitter, “What was Christ saying and going this time 2,000 years ago? He knew His time was close…yet, He was still ministering” Then in my devotion I come across the story of the woman with the Alabaster Jar. Do you remember the story?

And behold, a woman of the city, who was a sinner, when she learned that he was reclining at table in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster flask of ointment, 38 and standing behind him at his feet, weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears and wiped them with the hair of her head and kissed his feet and anointed them with the ointment.” Luke 7:37-38

This story gets to me every time. She not only used a perfume that was literally a life-savings, but she wiped his feet, cried, and kissed him. What I see here is, she is showing her love for her Lord. Her extravagant love for Him. She is demonstrating not only gratitude, because that is not even close to the word she is feeling, but overwhelming thankfulness, appreciation and gratefulness. I tend to put myself in the bible characters shoes and I understand what she is feeling. As we all may understand when we realize we are a sinner. How we deserve Gods wrath, yet He was willing to make a way by sending His Son, Jesus to die for our sins.

So, she pours her love on Him because she understands how special He is. Then Jesus turns to Peter(Simon), who was witnessing this and begins to explain to Him what is taking place and concludes with this:

” Then turning toward the woman he said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I entered your house; you gave me no water for my feet, but she has wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You gave me no kiss, but from the time I came in she has not ceased to kiss my feet. 46 You did not anoint my head with oil, but she has anointed my feet with ointment.47 Therefore I tell you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven—for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little.” 48 And he said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” Luke 7:44-48

This passage has so much in it, and perhaps something to talk about on a future blog. But, what I want to share with you now, is She understand how “great” of a sinner she was. It is uncertain for sure what her “sin” was. Could she had been the woman caught in adultery? We really do not know for sure. But, we do know that she came to Jesus, seeking Him. Possibly for a reassurance that she too, would be forgiven of whatever her sin was. If she was already forgiven once, as in the woman who was caught in adultery, why would she come back to have him forgive her again? We will assume that this woman was different. She came for a different reason.

Did she come to prepare Jesus for what he was about to do? Maybe. All we do know is, she had heard he was there and sought Him out. She poured all she had onto him and loved on Him. She wanted to be near to Jesus.

Awhile back I had a dream. In my dream I had met Jesus. His smile, His touch…was more than fulfilling. It was strange to me, that in my dream, He came to me and shook my hand. He didn’t embrace me, but it didn’t matter because in that one gesture I felt…joy, satisfaction, and happiness. Nothing in this world has ever compared to that moment in my dream. Things have come close…but nothing like my Savior smiling at me and being near. So, I can understand how this woman had felt towards Jesus. She knew only He could satisfy. So she poured her love on Him.

This is why I like this story. It is a way for us to relate and experience, just a bit, through this woman, how we feel we would act towards our Savior. As if we were the ones pouring our perfume, our all, onto Him.

As we draw nearer to Good Friday and Resurrection Sunday, let us remember Him. Let us show our gratitude and thankfulness to our Savior in our daily walks with Him. Let us come to Praise and Worship Him with a new passion as we remember what He has done for us.

Leave a Reply

