My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 10)

“Then he said to me, “Fear not, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand and humbled yourself before your God, your words have been heard, and I have come because of your words”. Daniel 10:12

Daniel is visited by, what some feel, COULD be Jesus. I will leave that up to you to decide. But, he is visited by this man who tells Daniel of what is going to come. What I want to address is the above verse.

Daniel is told because he has “SET” his heart “to understand and humbled” himself before God, now God would answer Daniel.

Lets take a moment to pause and reflect on this. If we have a problem we are going through, if we have an obstacle, a trial, a heartache, a situation…whatever it may be..sometimes going to the Lord in just prayer is not the way to get the answer. Now bear with me. Jesus told his disciple that :

20 And He *said to them, “Because of the littleness of your faith; for truly I say to you, if you have faith [i]the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you. 21 [[j]But this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting.”] Matthew 17:20-21

Some situation need different kind of prayer. Can’t God hear me no matter how I pray? He sure can. But I think what is being said here, is God wants to see how dedicated you are. How faithful we are to our God, how fervent in seeking him about a situation. Clearly, it is about the heart, as well. As in the case with the disciples perhaps. (my interpretation)

Daniel, was desperate for the answer from God. We read earlier that, I, Daniel, was mourning for three weeks. I ate no delicacies, no meat or wine entered my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, for the full three weeks. ” Daniel 10:2-3

He wanted the answer and he was willing to do whatever it took to have the Lord hear him. God looked upon the sincere genuineness of Daniels heart. So God replied.

Challenge to us

As our families, our nation, our world goes through various trials and situations, what are we willing to do to hear from God? To see “mountains” moved?

James 4:10 “Humble yourselves before God and He will exalt you”

2 Chronicles 7:14 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

 

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 10)

Leave a Reply

