My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 9)

To us, O Lord, belongs open shame, to our kings, to our princes, and to our fathers, because we have sinned against you.” Daniel 9:8

Many Christians have felt that our nation, The United States, was set up to be a light to the world. That our land, our government, was made in such a way to bless other nations. That Gods “favor” (not to speak prosperity gospel) has been poured on us so that we would be a beacon to those. Sharing the love of Christ with the world. Not many countries in the world can openly preach, witness, proclaim the word of the Lord like we can here in the U.S. Yet, like in the letters to the churches in the book of  Revelation, we hear the words directed towards us, “this I have against you..” We have sinned.

Now, just a side note:I’m not saying that we are something special as a nation. But, we have been given special opportunities to be able to share Christ easily with the world. People come from all over the world to live here. Go to school here. Prosper here. But, if we study scripture, we know that we (U.S.) are not really mentioned in end times things. We have no real significance to add or share with when we read about the end times. I am only sharing this because, many Christians feel that America will be or is part of that. I personally feel, and so do many scholars, that America will be so involved with its own problems and/or destroyed. That may be why we are not really mentioned in the end times studies. I could be off but this is my take on it. With that said, I do feel we have a special purpose in the history of the world. God has given us so much. Why? Because we have favored Israel. If you notice in our History, when bad things happened, usually it had something to do with how we treated Israel. I know not every situation but, it does seem to be linked. And it goes the other way as well, It seems. Coincidence? I don’t think so. But, I may share more about that some other time.

Here we have Daniel praying…no pleading to God on behalf of his nation, Israel. Asking for forgiveness. This is what I am trying to say, America, has been given this amazing gift. The gift of freedom. Freedom that so many take for granted. We have laws that allow us to say or do anything we want. And in doing so, we have allowed things to be done that are UNGODLY in every way. We act out against God in our actions as a nation. We deny him. Deny what our Founding Fathers had established. In our anti-Christ attitude, his favor has been lifting.

Our debt is in the trillions, people of the world do not respect us, we see devastation through weather, famines, plagues, droughts, etc. I know God gives favor to those who follow him. That is not prosperity gospel, that is truth. And despite being in a sinful world God does like to bless his own. But, we have sinned greatly in the sight of our God. Anyone who reads their bible knows, that we have gone against His word so many times as a nation.

Israel, in the times of Daniel, did the same. But, what did they do? They cried out to God. Their leaders and often times the nation. They would go on fast as a nation. Repenting of their deeds. We currently have, and had, leaders that do not give God the time of day. Let alone, five minutes to seek His face for themselves or the nation. This is where we have gone wrong. But, this is where the church must arise. Fill in the gap. Don’t just say you will pray for the nation..its president…etc. Actually pray!!!

Lift up your voice to the Lord. Repent of your sin, repent of the sin of our leaders, and repent for the nation. We must humble ourselves before the Almighty. We must!! It is never too late to turn to God.

“If I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or if I command the locust to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among My people, 14and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land. 15“Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to the prayer offered in this place.… 2 Chronicles 7:13-15*

WE MUST, humble ourselves to God and Repent.

Image result for bow down

*yes this is directed towards Israel, but note: that God is gracious to all. More importantly to a humbled heart. This is what we can understand from this verse

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 9)

  1. I pray daily for America, pray 2 Chronicles 7:14, pray for the unborn and forgiveness for 60mm slaughtered via abortion, for revival. I just know from Biblical history that no nation which kills its children survives judgement from God. This is sobering, this brings me to my knees, this breaks my heart. But I have not abandoned hope. God is a miracle worker, He’s a redeemer, a restorer. And there’s always a remnant that is faithful to God. May He find me faithful. And all of you. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

