My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 7)

“Here is the end of the matter. As for me, Daniel, my thoughts greatly alarmed me, and my color changed, but I kept the matter in my heart.” (v 28)

This chapter is of Daniel describing his dream/vision that was given to him by God. It talks of end time events, the lords coming, beasts, destruction..etc..(go read it) If I were Daniel, I too, would say the above quote. Yet, he kept it all to himself.

Image result for Daniel's wisdom

Daniel just amazes me. He is given the gift of visions, dreams, and interpretation of dreams, and instead of telling people, he is moved by it, and keeps it in his heart. He has the wisdom, to know, “I shouldn’t share this…not yet”

The reason why I love Daniel, is because the Lord has given me a similar gift. I don’t share that to boast, but to humbly say, I am no where near that kind of maturity that Daniel was. Sure, he is much older when this takes place. At least we assume he is. Which is probably why I have not been given interpretations to my dreams. And I sometimes share them, probably not the best wisdom to do. But, I am learning. So I read his book for wisdom on such matters.

Friends this is why we must read scripture. It gives insight into all areas of our lives. It is not “just stories” or “a history book”…it is that..but so much more. It is wisdom. God allowed these books to come together to be a guide for our daily walk.

You ever feel sad and depressed? There are a ton of scripture that can lift you up. Let alone tell you stories of those who got down too and how God helped them up.

There is so much in scripture. Don’t just read it, but study it. Dig DEEP! Research the backgrounds of each story, the people, the cities etc. It deepens your ideas of God. It creates a firm foundation. It helps you in all areas of your daily walk with God and his creation.

Image result for WISDOM

I know there is so much to this chapter and the next few chapters. However, like I said before, I am giving a different take on each chapter. My own thoughts and feelings and questions. Some may be off the wall and random..goofy even. And some may be serious and challenging. SO, bear with me as we continue in our walk through this book and My Thoughts on Daniel.

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Daniel (pt 7)

  1. Maybe it’s a sign of our times, but the first thing I thought about when reading that Daniel kept the vision in His heart is that’s the opposite of what we do today. We over-share, i.e. social media. Daniel was greatly affected by these visions, but internalized them. Between him and God. We should probably do that more often.

    I enjoy this series, and your blog. God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

