The moon and the Son

Image result for moon fire quote

I found this quote the other day, while in search of some pictures of the moon. I have always been fascinated with the moon. When I step out in to the cold crisp night air and see the stars sparkling and the moon shining, I look up in awe. I think of God in those moments. In those times of quiet I have felt the Lord call to me, I whisper, “yes Lord?” I feel Him say, “stay just a little while with him in the peace of the night” My first love calling to me. How can I refuse?

It is interesting how important the moon is in our life. We know the moon controls the tides. It also controls the speed of the earth. Its slight gravitational pull effects the how long the day will be as well. Not only has it protected us from many space debris/rocks, but it marks seasons and harvest times. What I like most, is that it reflects the sun.

The moon and the sun has this beautiful relationship in the sky. We know that the side of the moon that faces earth is the side that captures the suns light. It shines down upon us. Then there are those times the sun shines through earths atmosphere and turns the moon red. A lunar eclipse. Also, known as a blood moon. Everything in harmony from the beginning.

This poem reminds me of how I want to reflect the Son. I know there have been times in my life when I have had that encounter or epiphany (whatever you want to call it) with God. It truly feels like a fire burning inside of me. Like my bones want to jump out of my skin. I want to dance and shout and sing! My reserved nature, however, prevents me from doing so. But, in those moments I do feel like my skin glows. People see it in my eyes too! They see the joy that they long for. They see the hope that they strive to cling too. They know I have something that they want. It seems like I am boasting. This is not my intent. But if we are to reflect anything it should be Christ Jesus.

There has been times where I have felt like the other side of the moon. Cold, alone, not reflecting the glory of God. It is not a place I want to be. Or a place I ever want to go back too. Yet, even in the darkness, it was light to Him. I too, still found hope. And faced the Son again. And found His warm embrace. His light making me new. His love shining on me. I reflected His light so that others may see Him too.

In the movie, Man of Steel, Jor-El says this to Superman,

“You will give the people of Earth an ideal to strive towards. They will race behind you, they will stumble, they will fall. But in time, they will join you in the sun, Kal. In time, you will help them accomplish wonders.”

I Love it for this reason, We are the hope to this world. We are the reflection of the Lord. What people see in us, I pray, is the Lord. His love shining through. Hope and joy, Peace and comfort…walking testimonies of how glorious God is. Then we can encourage them on. Point them towards Christ. Then they too can be in the Light. Reflecting the King of Kings. 

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.

Ephesians 5:1-2

2 thoughts on “The moon and the Son

Leave a Reply

