When someone wrongs you

What do you do when someone has wronged you?

Worldly mindset:

I am going to stay mad at you until you as for forgiveness. I am going to ignore you. I am going to stay bitter at you. I am going to hold the grudge for as long as it takes until you come crawling back humbly to me. I am going to take revenge. I am going to take it all. I will show no mercy. I will tell all of what you have done.  I will run your name through the mud.

Sounds awesome to say that or do that doesn’t it? It is funny that we see superheroes go through a similar situation which leads to them becoming a vigilante or super hero. But notice over time their character changes. They have an “ah ha!” moment. They see the “error of their ways”. Then they turn around to fight for good things. No longer on a path of vengeance or “getting even.” And should they have a sidekick they end up teaching their sidekick that taking the path of revenge is not a good path to be on.  But, we see how living a lifestyle like that can really deteriorate a soul. Why? because it is evil thinking. HATE!

Verses on the matter:

Ephesians 4:31 “Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.”

Proverbs 10:12 “Hatred stirs up conflict, but love covers over all wrong.”

Romans 12:9 “Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.”

Leviticus 19:18 “Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people, but love your neighbor as yourself..”

Godly mindset:

I have forgiven you of what you have done (Matthew 6:14-15). I will not hold what you did against you. (2 Corinthians 2:5-8) I will remember it not more just as God has remembered my sin no more (Colossians 3:13) Because I love you (1 Corinthians 13:4-6) God forgave me for what I have done. If I have Christ Jesus in me, then I should offer mercy and compassion for my fellow brother/sister in Christ.(1 John 2:9-15) If one has wronged me multiple times I will forgive them multiple times as well. (Matthew 18:21-22)

Seeking God in all situations always helps. Sometimes there will be times you have to just let God handle it and all you can do is remain silent and forgive.

 

Give it to God, pray for the person, and let God deal with it.

“Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” Romans 12:19 (Dueteronomy 32:35)

 

 

Comments are closed.