I am being followed!!

Image result for im being followed
Aston-Martin.com (pic)

Today I was driving back from my morning walk, thinking about a million things, like most women do, and I noticed a police car was following me. I immediately looked down to my speedometer to make sure I wasn’t speeding. Then the thought that raced through my mind was “is my insurance up to date?, I better make sure I am a good distance from the vehicle in front of me?, I need to make sure I slow down early and not at the last minute., Get my phone out of my lap just in case I do get pulled over.”

What is wrong with me!? I am a safe driver. I was obeying the law. I haven’t had a ticket in years. There was nothing for me to worry about. Yet, I almost started to panic a bit, all because the law COULD have found something wrong to pull me over for.

WHAT if we were that way when God was watching us? We were extra cautious, we obeyed all the laws, and we knew that there was nothing to worry about because we are guilt free.

Of course Jesus can help us with that. And the Holy Spirit guides us in life..when we listen.

But, that is it! We are not doing those things. We, at times, do not seem to care that God is right there watching us. We have to renew our mind. Here’s this as a reminder:

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses,

let us also lay aside every weight,

and sin which clings so closely,

and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..”

Hebrews 12:1

Since we are being watched and records are being kept, wouldn’t we want to strive or try to do our best? Yet, we fail, we give in, we stumble, we fall, we give up. Sure it can seem a little scary that we are being watched in that way. But it is to keep us on the straight and narrow.

To be honest, that is a tough path sometimes. It takes discipline. A lot of discipline. Scripture says to “beat your flesh into submission” (1 Corinthians 9:27) in doing so we will stay on the right path. We obviously can not do it without the Holy Spirits guidance.

Accountability is key too.  Having others of like mind, who can encourage you in the Lord. (Hebrew 3:13) We ARE to be our brothers keeper.(1 Peter 3:8, 1 Thessalonians 4:9) Judge each other on our fruit etc. click -Blog on judging We are to use scripture to rebuke, correct, instruct, edify..etc.(2 Timothy 3:16)

So, in doing these things we can finish the race, we can endure, we can stay on the straight and narrow.

Challenge: finds someone to be your accountable partner. Truly study scripture. Make time for God. If there is anything else we do, we must seek Him. That means getting on our faces before God and seek Him.

Comments are closed.