Who am I? Identity Crisis

Image result for identity in christ

We have all asked this question. Maybe it leads to other questions like: Who do I want to be? What is my purpose? Why was I made? Will I ever be something? What is Gods will for me life?

Knowing who created us.

Have you ever met someone who has a relationship with Jesus Christ? They seem confident in themselves. They have a mission. A purpose. Why? Because they know their creator.

We do have a creator.In Psalm 139:13-16 it says:

“For you formed my inward parts;
    you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a]
Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
    intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them.”

If He created us, does He not have a plan for us? After all, every other thing in the universe has a purpose for why it is created.

Take a look at the moon. Sure the moon gives light at night, is used for marking seasons, but it controls the tide as well. If the small gravitational pull of the moon did not pull on the oceans tide do you know what would happen? It is because of the slight pull of the moon that causes the Earth to bulge a bit. Causing the Earth to rotate at a certain speed. So, not having a tide would not matter,(that much) if the moon was gone, but we would have shorter days.

“The movement of the bulge of tidal water across the oceans and its attraction to the Moon acts as a brake on the Earth’s rotation. Slowly but surely the length of a day is increasing.”

– Kaare Aksnes

Eventually, the Earth would speed up, ever slightly, and our days would be shorten. What would we do without the moon? (click for more info)

Image result for the moon and the ocean

God has made everything for a reason and a purpose. So why do you think He doesn’t have a plan for you?

How unique we are compared to all creation too!

Genesis 1:26-28

Then God said, “Let us make man[h] in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.28 And God blessed them. And God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it, and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare[b] and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Our Purpose then?

Proverbs 12:22

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

What is being said here is when we seek God we will discover His plan for us. Do not let the world tell you who you are. They were not the ones that made you unique. With that color hair, that personality, that height etc.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Until we discover what God has made us for, and even after, we are told to “rejoice”, “pray”, “give thanks” no matter what. Here is a goal more people need to do anyways. How the world would be different if they did.

Isaiah 43:1-6

But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I give Egypt as your ransom, Cush and Seba in exchange for you. Because you are precious in my eyes, and honored, and I love you, I give men in return for you, peoples in exchange for your life. Fear not, for I am with you; I will bring your offspring from the east, and from the west I will gather you. …

God is unchanging. I know that His word stand through the test of time. If He made these statements to the people way back then, and allowed them to remain today, would He not mean for us to apply them to us today?

Image result for changing my outward appearance

“But, I want to be/look like…”

The world likes to tell us who we are. And if we do not measure up then we are left feeling sad, lonely, depressed, worst off than before. EMPTY! Today, many struggle knowing who they are. They try to physically change themselves to be something entirely different than what God had planned.
Satan, the author of deception and confusion, is always saying that we will “be better”, if we don’t follow Gods plans for us.  He will whisper, “you can do it our own way” or that we can change what God has made.
We feel that what God has made was not “good enough.” I have been there. Many have. But think about this,in the book of Job, God is telling Job all the things He has made. And He says to him (paraphrased) “How can you question what I have made or done?” After a couple chapters of God proving how great He is, (And God is great!) Job is humbled and says:
Job 42:3
“Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand,
    things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.”

God is not some distant God who doesn’t care about us. He wants to be apart of our daily lives. Every moment. He tells us He is an all-sufficient (more than enough) God.

Our shelter, refuge and hiding place (Psalm 91)
• The one who comforts us (2 Corinthians 1:3)
• Our healer (Psalm 103:3)
• The source of wisdom (James 1:5)So if we know our Creator we will know who we are. Because He give us purpose, He gives us confidence, He heals our broken fallen nature, He gives us hope.  In Him, we are satisfied. We do not longer for the things of the world or trying to “please man”.  If our inward being is made whole, than we will look at our outward being as specially made.

God has prepared

We will not know what God has planned unless we seek Him.“But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”— 1 Corinthians 2:9 That means, to me, that it is a life of amazing things…well definitely, amazing things to come. But, also, if we are walking in His ways we will experience amazing things here in this lifetime too.

John 15:9-11

“Abide in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. 11 These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.”

Satisfaction Guaranteed!

The Maker guarantees His work. No mistakes when He made you! He has plan and purpose for you. If we do what He has called us to do: “Abide” in Him, seek Him, … then you will be/feel full and complete!

Psalms 16:11

You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

Psalms 107:9

“For he satisfies the longing soul,
    and the hungry soul he fills with good things”

Image result for john 6:35

Comments are closed.