Doubt: Increase my faith!

Image result for doubting thomas

John 20:24-29

Jesus and Thomas

“24 Now Thomas, one of the twelve, called the Twin,[a] was not with them when Jesus came. 25 So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.”

26 Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, Peace be with you. 27 Then he said to Thomas, Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe. 28 Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” 29 Jesus said to him, Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.

We read this passage and we understand how Thomas felt. Why do we always ask for a sign? Why can’t we just believe? We want something  that we can touch as if that will be enough. I remember reading in scripture that

“When Jesus had said these things, he departed and hid himself from them. 37Though he had done so many signs before them, they still did not believe in him, 38so that the word spoken by the prophet Isaiah might be fulfilled:

“Lord, who has believed what he heard from us,
and to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?”

39Therefore they could not believe. For again Isaiah said,

40“He has blinded their eyes
and hardened their heart,
lest they see with their eyes,
and understand with their heart, and turn,
and I would heal them.”

John 12:36-40

Even when Jesus was right there performing these miraculous signs people did not believe. So even when we are given a sign..we still doubt? Whats wrong with us?!

If you read my previous blog (Healed!) you will see verses that say “if you just believe”. God is asking us to just believe in God. Believe what He is doing. Trust Him. Why do we struggle so much with that?

Image result for faith increase

We all have a bit of a “doubting Thomas” in us. I suppose because we do not have the right relationship with the Lord as we should. Yet, we read this..

29Jesus said to him, “Because you have seen Me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen, and yet have believed..” John 20:29

“Though you have not seen Him, you love Him; and though you do not see Him now, you believe in Him and rejoice with an inexpressible and glorious joy..” 1 Peter 1:8

We can serve the Lord today, without seeing Him like the disciples did. Yet, sometimes in our prayers we ask for signs? Truly, I do believe, we doubt because sin has crept in. He ask for a sign because we are not having the faith that we once had.

So, that makes one wonder…was Thomas doubting because he was in sin? We do not know the answer for sure about that. But, we do know he doubted. He lacked faith.He forgot that Jesus said He would rise again. He forgotten all the things the Lord had done right before his very own eyes.

We do that too. Don’t we? We forget where the Lord has brought us from. We forget what the Lord has done in our lives and the lives of others. Then when trials come we get easily distracted and start doubting what the Creator of the universe can do! Shame on us! Shame on me!

“Remembering what God has done in the past

is vital for living by faith in the future”

Pastor David Schrock (Don’t Forget What God Has Done For You)

Easy conclusion, if we keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, stay on that narrow path, stay connected with the Lord…we will not doubt. We will trust what God is doing. We will have the faith to move mountains or mulberry trees. (Matthew 21:18-21)

How can my faith increase?

  1. Keep a record of all the things the Lord has done.  Write down every time the Lord works in you life or in the lives of others. Financial, healings, protection, provisions..answering any kind of prayers. Moses did (Deuteronomy 5:15, 8:2, 9:7 also check Hebrews 11)
  2. Be around those who have great faith. Stay connected with like minded people…Christians who are serving God. they will encourage you.(1 Thessalonians 5:11)
  3. Pray. In Luke 17:5 the disciples asked the Lord to “increase our faith!” We to can ask the Lord to do this in our lives. We “decrease that the Lord may increase” (John 3:30)

Image result for faith increase quotes

I want to believe without seeing! I want my faith to increase so that, anything that comes my way will be nothing of alarm. I want to be so full of faith that I can say:

“Whatever happens I know the Lord has me.

Not my will but His.

Because God said it I WILL believe it!”

Leave a Reply

