Whats in a Name?

Our name makes us who we are.

If I shared my name, what do you immediately think? (hopefully all good things) Parents will choose names based on past people they knew with that name. Certain names or titles have great respect like that of presidents, historical figures, celebrities, a best friend or that family member that was a role model, etc. While others denotes traitors, blasphemers, thieves, liars, murders, that class mate that stalked you, or the family member you are embarrassed of, etc.

Juliet, in the play “Romeo and Juliet” by Williams Shakespeare, asks the question.

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose/By any other name would smell as sweet.”

What does she mean? We are defined by our names. The two families were fighting each other for years. If you belong to one family they knew to hate you. All because of the name. (How sad.)

Then we have instances where taking someones name can be the best thing in the world. Because you know that you belong to them. You want to belong to them. When a man and a women get married, it is custom for the woman to take the Mans last name. She is “so in love with him” that she wants to be apart of him and willing to take his name.

 

Representing a name

As a child my father would often say, “Ericka you are representing my name. What you do will be forever be associated with your name. Our name.” So, “make a good name for yourself”(or something of that nature). How often I would introduce myself to pastors or leaders in the church or others churches and say…”My fathers is …” and people could immediately associate either me with good thoughts or bad.(always it would be the good associations). Whether, it is representing the family name for you father or mother, or representing it for yourself…

When people hear your name how do they respond?

 

We know there is power in name.

If you are a Christian, you have no doubt-ably, read scripture about the name of God. Scripture says,

11“He is the STONE WHICH WAS REJECTED by you, THE BUILDERS, but WHICH BECAME THE CHIEF CORNER stone. 12“And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved. acts 4:11-12

God has many names, we know this from scripture.

        

Of course at the name of Jesus..

9For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, 10so that at the name of Jesus EVERY KNEE WILL BOW, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. Philippians 2:9-11

One day the world will know His name. His great and powerful name. I hope you know that name well.

Significance of names

In bible times, people would name their children based on an event in their life or if God told them specifically to name their son that name. We think God is not in control? HE is! Take a look at any story in the old testament. Look at the meaning behind the name of the city or the name of the person or the King. Almost always the meaning behind that name is significant to the story that it is in. So, we think HE DOES NOT KNOW US! He does.

  • Joshua, the man the led Israel into the land the promise land, His name means YHWH IS SALVATION and look at what he did.
  • Daniel means: God is my judge, you can find his story and how he lived up to that name in the very book he wrote.
  • Elijah:God is YHWH, and there again look what God did through that prophet. How about new testament men.
  • Peter: rock or mountain. We know that Jesus even called Peter the rock which he would build his church on.
  • Paul: small or humble. Though he was bold for the lord, he knew he was the cheifiest of sinners. he knew he was not perfect and he felt honored that God of the universe choose him.
  • Bethlehem: house of bread. Who came from Bethlehem..the bread of life. Jesus.

HE KNOWS MY NAME!

A song comes to mind:

If you are like me you feel honored when someone remembers your name. Or when someone specifically addresses you by your name. One thing I have always liked when someone comes up to me or when I get that phone call or text and they specifically say my name like, “Good morning Ericka or How are you Ericka” they are concerned with me and want to put all their attention on me(I guess that means I need attention?) But the point is, we have their attention and they have ours when our name is said.

We all know that when mom says all three names that means business. (It’s okay to laugh) She knows our name when it counts! Its a signal to us that we are in for it. No one else will be punished but only the name our mother yelled out! All of a sudden your name is important. But,…in a bad way.

Then, we hear our name in an affectionate way. How we melt when we hear “I love you Ericka”. That means, no one else will do. It means, “no other name means more to me than you. You have all my attention and love”. It is a good feeling, especially, when you are being goofy together and you hear them say, while laughing with you, “I love you Ericka”. That means, “no matter what..it is YOU, that I adore. (my sappy feelings I know)

Yet, to Hear Him say your name. Nothing else will be like it. One early morning I was laying in bed wide awake. No one was up. I hear this voice that sounded like my father. But he was still in bed. I thought immediately, of the story from  the book of 1 Samuel 3. So, if you know the story, I answered “yes Lord?” There is nothing like that feeling knowing that…He called me in the quiet of the morning to speak to me…specifically.

He knows my name. He doesn’t make mistakes. HE knows what we CAN become. You may feel that you are a nobody, that you were a mistake, that you will never amount to anything. REMEMBER THIS: the creator of the universe knows your name. He loves you with an everlasting love. He has plans to prosper you.

“13For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. 14I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.…” Psalm 139:13-14

“15My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; 16Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written The days that were ordained for me, When as yet there was not one of them. 17How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them!…”Psalm 139:15-17

I know that my name is:

Child of the One true King

 

Leave a Reply

